New: Learn Statamic on Laracasts!

We've retired the forum in favor of GitHub Discussions.

New conversations can be started on GitHub. Existing conversations will remain for a while longer.

Head over to GitHub →

Deploying Statamic 3 site from localhost to shared host environment

Ron van de Crommert October 22, 2020 by Ron van de Crommert

I'm looking for some guidance on moving a Statamic 3 site developed on my computer (localhost) to a production environment on a shared host (HostGator in my case, partly because it's supposed to play nicely with Statamic out of the box). I've been trying to figure out how to do that, but I'm having a hard time making things work. I'm no expert, but not a completely novice either.

I developed my Statamic 3 site (let's call it 'MySite') on localhost, using Laragon on Windows 10 as the web server, with Apache and PHP 7.4. I set the Statamic's 'public' folder as the webroot, and everything looks great and is working as expected on 'localhost'.

I'm now ready to deploy this site to my shared host, HostGator. I quickly figured out there was a lot more to it than simply copying everything from the local 'MySite' folder to the web server. I've been looking at pages like these to get a sense of how to do that exactly:

https://medium.com/laravel-news/the-simple-guide-to-deploy-laravel-5-application-on-shared-hosting-1a8d0aee923e#.m81xhkjt2

https://www.5balloons.info/hosting-laravel-5-5-project-on-shared-hosting-hostgator/

First thing I did was install Laravel 8 on my HostGator web server using the Softaculous installer, which is available on HostGator's cPanel. There are basically three options to install Laravel on my shared host:

1) Directly in 'public_html', so all Laravel directories are directly under 'public_html'.

2) In a subdirectory (say, 'laravel') under 'public_html', so public_html/laravel/.

3) In a directory outside 'public_html', so something like: /laravel/ and /public_html/.