Sorry that this is a really long post and pre-emptive apologies for terrible run-on sentences rife with parentheticals.

Hello Gentlepeople of Statamic.

I have been working on a site for my film production company, the Kitchen. I have absolutely loved working with Statamic. Coming from a previous site built on Jekyll and having developed a few sites with Craft (and quite a few on ExpressionEngine before that, when I used to do this for a living), Statamic represents Hope for me: That there might actually be a best-of-all-worlds CMS. Eventually.

Right now, I'm having a lot of trouble with something that I suspect wouldn't be too difficult to develop an add-on for, or build right into the core, and I can't see how many people wouldn't be running into this same issue.

Before you say "write the add-on yourself," I know. I know. I'm sorry. I can't. I won't. I'm not a developer or a designer. I only pretend to be when I'm building my own sites. I'm a filmmaker, and that's my job, and I don't have time for a second job right now. This whole post may only convey that I'm just dumb and that I do everything wrong and why don't I just go crawl in hole with my non-contributing self and die, but I have to say that with both Craft and EE, I have usually been pretty easily able to figure out how to pull off any old convoluted thing I wanted to do (and I am forever coming up with these things, I swear, give me any piece of software to accomplish any task, and within an hour, I will find the one thing that I want to do that won't work, at least not easily, or so it seems.)

So in Statamic, as in life, the thing that has me pulling my hair out is relationships. I was, to put it mildly, extremely discouraged when on Twitter, the leadership said they didn't think related entries "would ever be something we're the best at," due to "the nature of flat files."